UK Employee Ownership Awards

The most sought after accolades for all those involved in employee ownership in the UK.

In 2015 The Philip Baxendale Awards were renamed the UK Employee Ownership Awards and are now managed by the Employee Ownership Association (EOA).

Having created the sector’s national awards nine years ago and co-hosted them with the EOA, Baxendale are pleased to be in a position to handover full responsibility for the awards to the EOA to take them to the next level of recognition and prestige.

Baxendale’s involvement continues as the sponsor for the Awards, with the lastest edition having been presented at the Gala Dinner on the first evening of the EOA Annual Conference on 23rd November 2015 at the Hilton Birmingham Metropole Hotel.

Baxendale are also delighted that the legacy of Philip Baxendale, whose name has been carried by these awards since their inception, will continue to be recognised in perpetuity every year through the Philip Baxendale Fellowship Award (see below for more detail).

EO Awards 2015

In 2015 there were five categories of award to celebrate and recognise excellence in employee owned business across the UK, namely:

1. Employee Owned Business of the Year

This Award, for well established employee owned businesses, focuses on brilliant performance in the sector. It is an Award that recognises the best all round performance of an employee owned company during the year to September 2015. The key criteria for this Award are outstanding achievements relating to services and/or products plus overall performance. Nominations for this Award are sought from all employee owned organisations very much including those delivering public services.

2. Rising Star of the Year

This Award is to recognise the success of an organisation that has become employee owned no more than 3 years prior to September 2015.

It is to celebrate a business that is already, in its early life, becoming an effective company with a very strong culture of employee ownership.

3. Employee Owner of the Year

This Award is to celebrate an individual, irrespective of their seniority and whether they operate on the front line of the business or not, who has done the most to promote and develop employee ownership inside an employee owned organisation.

4. Innovation of the Year

This Innovation Award is for the most compelling example of innovation within an employee owned organisation. The innovation must be currently enhancing the services and/or products of the business and the outcomes the business achieves.

5. Philip Baxendale Fellowship Award

Created in the name of Baxendale’s visionary founder, Philip Baxendale – who took his family business into employee ownership 32 years ago enabling employees to share in wealth creation, participation and fulfilment from working in the company of their fellow owners – this Award seeks nominations proposing a single individual who has in the past made or is currently making an outstanding contribution to the growth of employee ownership in the UK. The winner of this Award will be someone who has an indisputable commitment to employee ownership and whose influence and impact within the sector is clear and widely recognised.

For full details on how to submit your nominations, click here.
2015 Winners


Employee Owned Business of the Year:

Winner: Gripple

Employee Owner of the Year

Winner: Dr. David Hodgkinson – Quintessa



Innovation of the Year:

Winner: Green Light Healthcare

Rising star of the Year:

Winner: Remploy


The Philip Baxendale Fellowship:

Recipient: Patrick Burns – Prospects